Thompson Honors Local Immigrants

Jul 10, 2017
Press Release

Vallejo, CA – Yesterday, Rep. Mike Thompson (CA-05) announced his recipients for the Fifth Congressional District American Dream Awards.  This award recognizes the achievements of eighteen immigrants in Thompson’s district who have made remarkable contributions to our communities in the areas of Arts and Culture, Professional Achievement, Entrepreneurship and Innovation, or Community Service.  Our district is filled with great immigrants who are proven job creators, philanthropists, and community leaders. They make our district better through their hard work and perseverance. Though the new administration has spoken harshly against immigrants and refugees, Thompson continues to promote tolerance and acceptance.

“We are a nation of immigrants, of brave men and women who left their lives and everything familiar behind them for the chance to build something better, be part of something greater,” said Thompson. “The dream of our forefathers continues to inspire a new generation today. I’ve met so many immigrants in our district—and all across our nation—who have built amazing businesses, given back to their communities, and enriched the lives of everyone they meet. If I could, I would have honored them all. At the very least, I want to make it clear that our district would not be nearly as vibrant or successful without their contributions. I’d like to thank them all for sharing their stories in their own words, and congratulate them on everything they’ve accomplished.”

The full list of awardees is:

  • Luisa Acosta -  Lake County
  • Gustavo Brambila - Napa County
  • Amelia Ceja -  Napa County
  • Evelyn Centeno – Contra Costa County
  • Sonu Chandi – Sonoma County
  • Nataly Deherrera - Solano County
  • Mayor Myrna De Vera -  Contra Costa County
  • Miljenko Grgich - Napa County
  • Art Ibleto, the “Pasta King - Sonoma County
  • William Kim -  Solano County
  • Newton Luu and Jackie Truong – Contra Costa County
  • Manuel Mendoza - Lake County
  • Dr. Maryam Mohsenzadeh – Napa County
  • Dr. Marlene Quilala - Lake County
  • Carmela Sandoval and Maria Sanchez - Solano County
  • Suzanne Smith – Sonoma County

Click here to view pictures from the award ceremony and read bios of the winners. Or visit: